Fuel-efficiency Award For OSRTC Depots

Petroleum Conservation Research Association (PCRA), a unit under the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, has chosen Bhawanipatna and Padampur depots of Odisha State Road Transport Corporation (OSRTC) for fuel-efficiency award.

Performance data of all State transport undertakings between October 2018 and September 2019 were collected in the form of km per litre by PCRA, and these two depots from Odisha stood out.

Data from 23 depots under OSRTC were submitted for the competition. Bhawanipatna and Padampur depots scored the most points based on their performances. A cash reward of Rs. 50,000 and a plaque will be given to each depot at a State-level function scheduled on Thursday.

Since the last 10 years, PCRA has been supporting OSRTC to hold regular training programs for drivers and, as a result, 150 drivers have been trained between 2018 and 2019.

“The training program prepares drivers to drive safely and to conserve fuel. These programs have succeeded in generating greater awareness among the drivers for fuel-efficient driving”, said Amir Kumar Patnaik, Deputy General Manager (Technical) OSRTC.

PCRA has been credited for promoting fuel-efficient methods through various state road transport projects across the country.

Leave a comment