Indian Paddlers Dominate At The Commonwealth TT Championships

Indian players bagged seven gold medals as they achieved a clean sweep in the 21st Commonwealth Table Tennis Championships, making good use of the home advantage. The championship concluded at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium in Cuttack on 22 July.

The individual medal tally was expected to be led by the likes G. Sathiyan but he lost to Harmeet Desai, India’s hero in the team event, in the tightly contested final match of the men’s singles. Harmeet Desai trailed 0-2 after two sets but made an impressive comeback to outwit Sathiyan and clinch the title.

The all-Indian final across all categories was a testament to the talent of the Indian paddlers. In the end, India secured seven gold, five silver, and three bronze medals to be the table toppers.

In the men’s doubles final, Sathiyan and Sharath Kamal failed to counter the fury of Anthony Amalraj and Manav Thakkar, who claimed the gold, downing the top seeds 3-1 after the Indians had thrashed the Singapore and England pairs, respectively, in the semi-finals.

In women singles, Ayhika Mukherjee won her maiden gold by beating Madhurika Patkar in straight sets. In women doubles, Pooja Sahasrabudhe and Krittwika Sinha Roy defeated the other Indian pair of Sreeja Akula and Mousumi Paul with a scoreline of 3-1. Notably, India’s rising star Manika Batra had withdrawn from the tournament after the team event due to illness.

Leave a comment