Delhi Beat Odisha In Vijay Hazare Trophy

Odisha cricket team has lost the second test match of the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy against Delhi. The team faltered against a good looking Delhi side, ending up short of 63 runs despite a noteworthy performance by Odisha’s skipper Subhranshu Senapati who scored 77 runs in both innings. The match took place at Vadodara.

Odisha lost opener Shantanu Mishra in the third over for a duck in the second innings, chasing a target of 300 runs. After the fall of the first wicket, Subhranshu Senapati and Sandeep Pattnaik steadied the ship. But once that partnership broke, wickets kept tumbling at regular intervals to leave Odisha at 172/8 at one stage.

However middle-order batsman Abhishek Raut and pacer Rajesh Mohanty stood firm trying to inch closer to the final target. But it wasn’t enough as Odisha finished at 236 for the loss of eight wickets in their quota of 50 overs.

On the other hand, Delhi’s bowlers proved to be economical. And their batsmen performed expertly, scoring several half-centuries including their skipper Dhruv Shorey (51), Nitish Rana (56) and Anuj Rawat (69) posting a challenging total of 299.

Odisha falls in Elite Group B with other teams including – Delhi, Vidarbha, Maharashtra, Himachal Pradesh, Baroda, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana & Punjab. Odisha will be playing against Vidarbha next on the 3rd of November.

Three-time winners Mumbai will be looking to retain their title this season after winning the previous edition (2018-19) by defeating Delhi in the final.

Leave a comment