Bhubaneswar To Host National Para-Badminton Championship

Odisha’s capital city Bhubaneswar is set to organise the National Para-Badminton Championship this year. The event will begin on December 24 and will be going on till December 26. More than 500 para shuttlers, including Tokyo Paralympics gold medallist Pramod Bhagat, will participate in the championship.

This three-day-long tournament will be organised by the Para Sports Association of Odisha along with the Department of Sports and Youth Affairs, Government of Odisha. The matches will be spread across two venues in Bhubaneswar under the Aegis of Paralympic Committee of India and Badminton Association of India.

Pramod Bhagat is India’s first-ever badminton player to receive gold at the Paralympics. He was also recently awarded the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. Apart from Pramod, the tournament will also see the participation of Tokyo gold medallist Krishna Nagar from the SH6 category, Tokyo silver medallist Suhas Yathiraj, Paralympic bronze winner Manoj Sarkar, Sukant Kadam, Parul Parmar, Manasi Joshi, Palak Kohli, Tarun Dhillon, Prem Kumar Ale, Raj Kumar among others.

“I’m very happy to share here that Para Sports Association of Odisha along with the Department of Sports and Youth Affairs Govt of Odisha is going to organise the Para-Badminton National Championship at Bhubaneswar from 24th to 26th December 2021,” said Kamala Kanta Rath, President of Para Sports Association of Odisha.

Rath also conveyed his best wishes for the tournament along with a vote of thanks to the Department of Sports and Youth Affairs, Govt of Odisha for all the support.

Leave a comment