Saturday and Sunday Shutdown in these Odisha Districts

Odisha is about to enter its first weekend shutdown in the Unlock 2 phase. As per the government directives, ten districts across Odisha will witness a shutdown on Saturday and Sunday through the month of July. These districts classified under Zone-1 include Ganjam, Gajapati, Khordha, Cuttack, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar, and Jharsuguda.

Over 60% of coronavirus cases in Odisha were reported from these areas as of June 30. Officials in the state are confident that a weekend shutdown can help control the spread of the virus.

Meanwhile, all the existing restrictions on gymnasiums, cinema halls, swimming pools, theatres, and assembly halls will continue to prevail in the state during July. International flights will also remain suspended throughout this period.

Hotels and restaurants will operate as per the norms put in place by the Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). Only in-house guests will be allowed to avail of restaurant services. All government departments and subordinate offices will operate at 50% strength.

Notably, Odisha has reported 561 new COVID-19 positive cases today. This takes the total tally in the state to 8106, out of which 2567 are active cases. Ganjam has reported 283 cases followed by Cuttack with 81 new cases, Rayagada with 76, and Khurda with 26.

Out of the 81 new infections in Cuttack, 66 have been identified from two hospitals. About 55 persons from the Acharya Harihar Regional Cancer Centre (AHRCC) tested positive, while 11 cases were found at SCB Medical College and Hospital.

The state continues to report a high recovery rate with 5502 patients having been cured. However, the coronavirus has claimed 29 lives in the state. The Health & Family Welfare Department, Government of Odisha, confirmed two COVID-19 related deaths from Ganjam district this morning. This was communicated via an official tweet by the department.

Leave a comment