Odisha Sanctions 11 New Police Stations To Tackle Cybercrime, Economic Offences

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik approved the establishment of 11 new cyber and economic offences police stations across the state. The state government is taking all steps to tackle cybercrime and keep a check on cases of financial fraud.

The announcement comes at a time when instances of cybercrime are on the rise due to a lack of trained personnel in police stations. With the 11 new units, the total number of cybercrime and economic offence police stations in Odisha will increase to 14.

Currently, the state has such units operating only in Sambalpur, Rourkela and Berhampur. The new police stations will cover other key areas including Cuttack, Bhubaneswar, Keonjhar, Angul, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Puri, Koraput, Bhawanipatna, Bolangir and Kandhamal.

An official note issued by the Chief Minister’s Office stressed that it requires specialised knowledge to handle incidents of cybercrime. As a result, the chief minister has sanctioned 11 new cyber and economic police stations, it said.

“Cybercrime is a major concern around the world and our state of Odisha is also witnessing many cybercrime incidents. The endeavour will be a major step towards checking cyber and economic offences in the state and expedite delivery of justice,” said Naveen Patnaik.

Notably, over 150 police posts have been created for the new police stations being set up to tackle cybercrime.

Additionally, Finance and Accounts Analysts, IT Experts and Cyber Forensic Experts will be appointed to counter the prevailing cyber fraud activities.

The cybercrime and economic offence police stations will have jurisdiction over the entire police district. Meanwhile, the existing police stations will continue to have concurrent jurisdiction in the investigation of cybercrime and economic offences.

Leave a comment