Odisha Imposes Night Curfew in 10 Districts to Contain COVID

The Odisha government has imposed a night curfew and a host of other restrictions across western districts to contain the growing COVID cases. The decision was made today and will remain in place until further orders. The curfew will be enforced from 10 PM to 5 AM in those districts mentioned in the list.

The list of districts include Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Sambalpur, Bargarh, Balangir, Nuapada, Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Koraput and Malkangiri

As per the order released by the State Government, all commercial establishments including shops, offices and other institutions shall remain closed, while curbs on the movement of people will also be put in place. However, the restrictions do not apply to emergency services, industrial and construction activities.

The need to tighten curbs on free movement and activities comes at a time when India is witnessing a rapid second wave of COVID infections. Although vaccinations have started en masse, the rate of COVID cases being reported is perceived to be alarmingly high by experts.

The districts which have been put on curfew all border Chattisgarh, where active COVID-19 infections have crossed 31,000. Chattisgarh figures third in the list of states with the highest number of active cases at present, coming only after Maharashtra (3.89 lakh) and Karnataka (34,000).

Before the imminent signs of the second wave, Odisha was recording about sixty to seventy fresh cases a day. In recent weeks, that figure has shot up to 450 and is rising. A bulk of those cases are in the western Odisha region. Khurda, which houses the state capital Bhubaneswar, reported 77 new cases on Saturday, while western districts of Sundargarh (75), Nuapada (71), Kalahandi (29), Bargarh (19) and Jharsuguda (17) followed the increasing trend.

Leave a comment