Odisha Assembly Approves Amendments in BPUT Act

To improve the standard of academics, Odisha’s state cabinet has approved amendments to the Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT) Act. The cabinet, chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, passed the amendment in the state assembly.

Given below are the amendments made to the BPUT Act:

  • The term of office of the vice-chancellor of BPUT has been fixed for four years instead of five years. The decision has been taken to bring uniformities with other universities. Further, the post of professor, reader, and lecturer will be re-designated as professor, associate professor, and assistant professor in line with the all India pattern.
  • The new registrar of the BPUT will have to be an OAS officer, not beneath the rank of joint secretary, to ensure streamlined management. Furthermore, an Odisha Finance Service officer will now be appointed as finance officer of BPUT. This amendment will give the state government control over university affairs.
  • Annual report of the university will be tabled in the state assembly. Additionally, the vice-chancellor has been authorised to constitute a selection committee for the recruitment of teaching and non-teaching posts.
  • The colleges previously established and controlled by the university to convert government engineering colleges from constituent colleges of BPUT will now be brought under the wing of the autonomous Board of Governors for proper administration. As per the Act, CET Bhubaneswar shall discontinue being a constituent college of BPUT. It shall be an affiliated college with its Board of Governors.
  • A new section has been inserted wherein the Chancellor shall be competent to issue direction or instruction on matters connected with the university when any authority or vice-chancellor fails to perform as per these provisions, statutes, or regulations.
  • The cabinet has also approved a state social security proposal to empower persons with disabilities (SSEPD) by constructing integrated infrastructure complexes in all universities across 30 districts in a phased manner as per the 5T plan.
Leave a comment