Lockdown Across Five Districts And Eight Major Towns

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has announced complete lockdown across five districts of Odisha, along with eight major towns, including Bhubaneswar to halt the spread of coronavirus. However, emergency services will continue to operate as usual and would not be affected by the lockdown.

Patnaik stated that the districts put under lockdown were those where 70% of the cumulative total of 3,200 foreign returnees belonged to. Odisha has so far witnessed two positive cases of coronavirus. Both had a travel history to Europe: while one had visited Italy, the other had returned from the United Kingdom.

Through a pre-recorded message, he said, “We have more than 3000 people who have returned from foreign countries. They are advised for home quarantine. A majority of them belong to the following districts of Khurda (of which Bhubaneswar is a part), Cuttack, Ganjam, Kendrapada, Angul besides the towns of Puri, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Jharsuguda, Balasore, Jajpur Road, Jajpur town besides Bhadrak. In the first phase, we are going for a near-complete lockdown in all these areas from 7 am tomorrow (Sunday) till 9 pm on March 29. I humbly request you to stay at home and come out only for basic services.”

The government has empowered District Collectors to add or delete any sector/service to the list of emergency services, as deemed fit based on local assessments. Private companies have also been encouraged to extend Work From Home (WFH) to all employees.