BJD Candidate Wins Bijepur Assembly Poll By Record Margin

Rita Sahu, the BJD candidate won the Bijepur Assembly by-poll by a record 97,990 votes, the highest ever margin in the history. BJD, BJP and Congress were the three major political parties contesting for the seat.

Rita Sahu secured 1,35,957 votes while her nearest rival and BJP candidate Sanath Gartia bagged 37,967 votes. Dilip Kumar Panda, the Congress candidate, got 5,873 votes. A total of 1982 votes were recorded for NOTA (none of the above), according to Chief Electoral Officer Sushil Kumar Lohani.

By winning Bijepur, the ruling party has now won 113 seats in the assembly out of 147, further strengthening their position. Reports from the CMO stated that “Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik congratulated Rita Sahu for her huge historic win, breaking all records in Odisha’s electoral history”

Interestingly, Rita Sahu’s margin of victory is more than CM Patnaik’s 57,122, which he had registered earlier during May this year. The by-election was conducted because of Patnaik’s resignation from the Bijepur seat.

The voting which was conducted on October 21 witnessed a voter turnout of 79.17 per cent, which is quite high in comparison to the national average. Following the victory, celebrations were held at party offices in Bhubaneswar and Bargarh.

Leave a comment