Naveen Patnaik To Be Sworn In As Chief Minister For 5th Consecutive Term

After a long and hard-fought battle, the results of the 2019 elections have finally been declared. In Odisha, four phases of simultaneous elections were conducted on April 11, 18, 23 and 29, for the 147 Assembly seats and 21 Lok Sabha seats. The state witnessed a major fight between the ruling BJD and BJP.

Odisha Assembly Result 2019

While the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has cruised to victory with a whopping 112 seats in the Assembly Elections, BJP managed to win 23 seats this time around. Meanwhile, in the Lok Sabha seats, BJP has gained some ground in Odisha by securing wins in eight constituencies as opposed to the one they managed in the 2014 elections.

Lok Sabha Result 2019

Let’s look at some of the major highlights from the outcome of Odisha election 2019:

  1. In total, out of the total 21 Lok Sabha seats in Odisha, the BJD has won 12 seats, while the BJP managed to win eight and the Congress secured just the one seat by winning in Koraput
  2. The Assembly results showcase that the BJD has won 112 seats, 23 seats were won by BJP, while the Congress has 9 seats
  3. Naveen Patnaik records a fifth term in office to become one of the longest-serving Chief Ministers in India. Patnaik contested from two seats – Hinjili and Bijepur and emerged victorious in both
  4. In the Lok Sabha constituency of capital city Bhubaneswar, former bureaucrat Aparajita Sarangi of the BJP defeated retired IPS officer and former Mumbai police commissioner Arup Mohan Patnaik, who contested for the BJD, by a margin of 23,829 votes
  5. Educationalist-turned-politician and first-time Lok Sabha MP candidate Achyutananda Samanta won with a massive margin of 1,49,216 votes against BJP’s Mahamegha Bahan Aira Kharbela Swain, in Kandhamal
  6. BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra lost to sitting BJD MP Pinaki Mishra by a margin of 11,714 votes in a close fight for the Puri Lok Sabha seat
  7. Former MP Baijayant Panda, who was contesting from the Kendrapara Parliament constituency, lost to actor-turned Rajya Sabha MP Anubhav Mohanty by a margin of 1,52,584 votes
  8. BJD’s Rajashree Mallick who fought against BJP’s Bibhu Prasad Tarai in Jagatsinghpur has won with the highest margin of votes (2,71,655)

With yet another victory, Naveen Patnaik is set to be sworn in as Odisha’s Chief Minister yet again. The people have trusted him, especially his progressive schemes including KALIA – for farmer’s welfare, Mission Shakti – aimed at empowering women among many others. The BJP on the other hand also has some reason to cheer as they have managed to make inroads in terms of Lok Sabha seats in Odisha this time around.