Odisha Registers 73.08% Overall Polling

Simultaneous elections were held in Odisha for the 21 Lok Sabha and 146 Assembly seats in four phases where the state has registered a combined total of 73.08% polling.

The registered polling per cent in Nabarangpur Lok Sabha constituency was the highest with 78.89% whereas the Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat recorded the lowest polling with 59.60%.

In the assembly election segment, Kotpad constituency marked the highest polling of 86.83%, while Bhubaneswar-Central enrolled with the lowest polling of 43.04%.

In the first phase, there was a voter turnout of 73.76%. While the turnout witnessed during the second, third and fourth phases stood at 72.56%, 71.62% and 74.50% respectively.

Patkura Assembly polling, which was initially scheduled to take place on April 29, has been rescheduled to May 19 which due to the death of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla on April 20.

With the cyclonic storm Fani approaching Odisha, steps are being taken for the safety of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) kept in the districts which will be the worst affected.

“It has been decided to shift the EVMs from two places in Jagatsinghpur and Gajapati districts. The entire shifting process will be conducted in the presence of candidates and will also be videographed”

Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Surendra Kumar stated,