COVID-19: Odisha in List of 19 States & UTs to receive Vaccination in First Phase

Odisha has been included in the list of 19 States and Union Territories (UT) chosen for the first phase of COVID-19 vaccination. These states and UTs will be receiving the vaccines directly from the supplier/manufacturer in the first phase.

The Odisha government expects the vaccines to be delivered in the state by next week. For the initial phase, the state requires around seven lakh doses which will be administered to 3,28,560 lakh healthcare workers (HCWs) and ICDS functionaries.

As per the cold chain management guidelines, once the vaccine is collected from the manufacturer, the vials will be taken to the state vaccine store. It will then be transported to regional vaccine stores at Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Ganjam, Balasore, Balangir, Kandhamal, Koraput, Sambalpur, and Sundargarh through special vans.

After reaching the regional stores, the vaccines will be dispatched to 32 district vaccine stores. The vials will be taken to session sites in the ice-lined refrigerators (ILRs). All arrangements have been done as per the cold chain protocol, said Director (Family Welfare) Dr Bijay Panigrahi.

The state government has made a clear stance about vaccination of the HCWs enrolled in the Co-WIN portal in the first phase. The State and Central police forces, home guards, civil defence personnel, disaster management volunteers, prison staff, and municipal workers will be administered the vaccine in the second phase.

While the state has received 21 lakh syringes and 24 ILRs, the centre is expected to supply 315 ILRs, 41 deep freezers, six walk-in-coolers, two walk-in freezers by March 31. The Odisha State Medical Corporation has procured 1006 ILRs, 30 deep freezers and 7331 needle destroyers.

Additional Chief Secretary of Health department, PK Mohapatra has asked the collectors to finalise the selection of session sites by January 10 for the first phase of vaccination.

Leave a comment