Odisha Universities To Be Upgraded Under RUSA Scheme

Under the Rashtriya Uchchattar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) scheme, the union government has approved to finance 161 higher educational institutions including degree colleges and universities from Odisha. The primary aim of the RUSA Scheme is to enhance access, equity and quality in higher education at the state level.

The scheme will be creating new academic institutions, growing and enhancing the existing ones, providing students with suitable education standards and creating an enabling atmosphere in the higher educational institutions to support research and innovation.

Union education minister Dharmendra Pradhan recently announced that Odisha has received financial aid of Rs 395.42 crore under numerous components of the RUSA scheme. Few chosen institutes from all 30 districts of the state have been selected for the RUSA grant.

The funds under the RUSA scheme will be used for the following activities:

  • Creation of universities by conversion of colleges in a cluster
  • Creation of universities by way of upgradation of existing autonomous colleges
  • Equity initiatives, infrastructure grants to colleges, infrastructure grants to universities
  • New model degree colleges, upgradation of existing degree colleges into model degree colleges
  • Preparatory grants and enhancing quality and excellence in select state universities

The Centre has selected the highest number of institutes (14) from Balasore district under the RUSA scheme followed by Cuttack (11), Khurda (11), Ganjam (10), Mayurbhanj (8) and Jajpur (7). Two institutions – RD Women’s College Bhubaneswar, GM College Sambalpur and Khallikote College Berhampur – were upgraded into universities under this scheme.

Notably, nine universities have been given infrastructure grants. Odisha had joined RUSA on October 28, 2013, by pledging to reform its higher education sector. Under this scheme, the share of the Centre and state is 60 per cent and 40 per cent respectively. The state associated with RUSA 2.0 in the 12th project approval board meeting held on May 25, 2018.

Leave a comment