Schedule for Puri Rath Yatra 2021 Released: Details

The Shree Jagannath Temple Administration (SJTA) has announced the schedule for the Puri Rath Yatra and the associated ceremonies – Debasnan Purnima, Bahuda Yatra, Suna Besha and Niladri Bije. Odisha’s largest festival will be observed only in Puri on July 12 without the gathering of devotees owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. Servitors involved in the rituals will have to undergo RT-PCR tests or complete two doses of COVID-19 vaccines.

The Shree Jagannath Temple Administration has only approved servitors and temple administrators to participate in the rituals. Prohibitory order under section 144 of CrPC will be imposed around the temple on Snan Yatra, the bathing ceremony of the trinity.

Puri Maharaja Gajapati Dibyasingha Deb will perform the Chhera Pahanra by sweeping the decks of the chariots with a golden broom from 12.45 pm to 2 pm. The Rath Yatra procession will commence at 8:30 am while chariot pulling will begin at 4 pm on July 12.

The Lords Suna Besha (golden attire) will be held between 4 pm to 11 pm on July 21. Meanwhile, Niladri Bijee, the return of the trinity to the main temple, will be held on July 23. The procession will begin at 4 pm and end at 10 pm.

The administration of the Lord Jagannath temple in Puri, which is operating under the law department of the Odisha government and the SJTA, is accountable for the supervision of the shrine.

“As announced earlier, only a limited number of servitors will be allowed to perform the rituals on Debasnan Purnima, Rath Yatra, Bahuda, Suna Besha and other associated festivals to ensure compliance to the Covid safety norms. Only those servitors, police, temple and government officers, who test negative for Covid in RT-PCR, will be allowed to conduct the festivals,” Puri district collector Samarth Verma said.

Leave a comment