Kargil Vijay Diwas: Bravehearts From Odisha Who Gave Supreme Sacrifice

As India observes the 22nd Kargil Vijay Diwas, tributes pour in for the soldiers who made supreme sacrifice in the war. The war had lasted over two months and ended when the Drass subsector was cleared of Pakistani forces. There was heavy casualty on both sides. India’s official casualty figures stood at 527, while 1,362 were injured.

Several soldiers from Odisha were also martyred. On this day, we remember and pay homage to some of these valiant soldiers.

Major Padmapani Acharya

Major Padmapani Acharya

Born to a Wing Commander of Indian Air Force, Major Padmapani was in command of 2 Raj Rif when the Kargil War was waged. He was honoured with the second-highest Indian military honour Maha Vir Chakra posthumously.

Soldier Gopinath Moharana

He was the first martyr from Odisha in the Kargil War. He was serving as the driver, and his vehicle was attacked in the Dras sector.

Sgt Raj Kishore Sahoo

Sgt Raj Kishore Sahoo was a flight engineer, who was on board a Mi 17 helicopter that was hit by a Surface to Air Missile. The aircrew were martyred.

Lance Naik Ram Kumar Pradhan

Lance Naik Ram Kumar Pradhan

Lance Naik Ram Kumar Pradhan was part of the 1/11 Gorkha Rifles, and was martyred on May 26, 1999.

Naik Sachidananda Mallick

Naik Sachidananda Mallick was a resident of Kendrapara district and was martyred in the Trash sector on June 28, 1999.

Lance Naik Manas Ranjan Sahu

Lance Naik Manas Ranjan Sahu was martyred on June 7, 1999 in shelling while he was fixing the communication lines.

Rifleman Linkon Pradhan

Rifleman Linkon Pradhan of Gorkha Rifles was martyred due to bullet injuries he sustained on the Tiger Hill.

Leave a comment